Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

In the letter to the editor, the author has come to a conclusion that, investment of resources should be increased in unmanned space. The author has come to this conclusion based on the evidence that unmanned space probes and satellites has provided useful information. However, while the conclusion made by the author might hold water, it rests on unfounded assumptions, that if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, several assumptions need to be examined.

Firstly, the success of series of unmanned space probes may not be a great deal if compared with the success we can achieved in a manned space program. Perhaps, the information that a provides can have margin for error, while the same information if extracted by a astronaut may be precise and accurate. It can be possible that the probes are affected by climatic conditions. For instance. certain planets may have very low temperature where the space probe may not be able to carry out the feeded instruction and may freeze whereas, a human can take decision, whether to step out of the space craft in such severe conditons. If any of the above scenarios have merit, then the conclusion to fund unmanned space flight cannot be considered true.

Secondly, the degree to which a manned space program costs is not specified. It is possible that the cost of manned space flight can be reduced to a certain amount by reducing the current number for people involved in the mission. Perhaps, the information that can be gathered by numerous space probes can be gained in just one manned space flight. Thus, the cost for the certain space exploration can be reduced by a significant amount. If above case is true then the conclusion cannot be entirely persuasive.

Lastly, the level of threat faced in a manned flight is not mentioned. It is possible that with advancement in technology the threat and danger involved in manned space flight is significantly reduce. And sending humans in space will seem more feasible than sending probes. If the above case holds water the decision to invest in unmanned space flight is significantly weakened.

Although the author may not be evaluating the given situation in its entirety, the conclusion and information associated with it cannot be written off either. There is no smoke without fire and the author must have had compelling reasons to make such a strong conclusion, however, since the reasons for the above mentioned assumptions have not been listed here, hence the argument cannot be said holistically. More evidence is needed to make the given argument stronger.