"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

In the letter, the writer has stated that manned space flight is costly & dangerous and thus, they should invest their resources in unmanned space flight.However, the evidence provided by him is very vague and at least 3 assumptions made by him must be justified.

According to him, manned space flight is costly and dangerous.No justification,proof or data for this argument bas been provided by him.Maybe only some of the manned mission might be costlier than unmanned ones.Further, the cost depends on the type of mission and resources used.Manned mission to moon might be cheaper than unmanned mission to moon.Manned mission to mars might be costlier than unmanned mission to mars.The cost of machinery for unmanned mission might be much higher and may use more resources.Proper analysis is required to justify this statement and more data about the cost & resources of the missions must be provided.

The writer only talks about the recent success of unmanned probes & satellites.The writer has assumed that due to the recent success, future missions will also be as successful.The missions might be successful because the technology for automated machinery has been improved and thus, unmanned satellites work better now.If all the missions throughout the history were to be considered, it may happen that manned missions were more successful than unmanned missions.Future unmanned missions might not be as successful as they are now.

The writer has assumed that the weight of information gained through unmanned missions is more than the risk of manned missions.It may happen for some unmanned missions that cost & resources of it is more than the information gained through it.Inversely, the information gained through manned mission might be more useful and greater than the risk involved in it.Every mission is different whether manned or unmanned and the risk & information gain of it must be calculated effectively without assuming anything.

If any of the above assumptions remian unjustified, they could seriously undermine the argument.If the writer is able to provide more concrete evidence and statistical data, his argument could be evaluated properly.