Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that the person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The statement above is contending against routinely administered inoculations on a fundamentally void basis. Instead, it draws from conjecture, defying the need to support its claims clearly and scientifically.

Administration of the vaccination, as stated, contains a small risk factor. However, the statement fails to give statistical evidence to the claim, with no quantified proof, such as number of fatalities per year, that support the assertion that correlates the deaths to the vaccine. The statement should have included a mention of studies conducted that would have solidified the claims. This way, better insight into the relative success and failure rates would make it much clearer for patients to understand the risks. More importantly, however, these studies are liable to study the various states in which the patients are subjected to, and such research could potentially show that a patient’s immune system or other physiological factors create negative responses to the vaccination. Such demonstrations, if they had been stated, would allow potential patients to get tested first before choosing to be inoculated. This way, patients would be, as they rightfully should, faced with the option to choose whether they would like to be inoculated or not. Since the fatality risk is supposedly minimal, and therefore insignificant, it should not be an issue for some, if not most, residents to choose to be inoculated, especially since they dwell within disease-infested areas.

In addition, the statement does not clearly define some of the terminology. For example, there is a certain ambiguity surrounding the phrase “routinely administered”. The statement does not indicate the intervals between inoculations, and we are left to speculate that perhaps the fatality risk is associated with the number of times patients should be administered. Meaning, cow flu could only be combated by a certain number of inoculations. However, patients could potentially choose to skip inoculations, which may leave them susceptible to succumb to the illness. Coupling the number of administrations with scientific studies, there could be demonstrations of patients that have contracted the illness prior to or in between administrations. The number of deaths, therefore, would be proven to be due to unfortunate or inopportune circumstances, rather than placing fault on the vaccine itself.

Nevertheless, the evidence could potentially strengthen the argument. Clear statistical analysis could prove that the “small possibility that the person will die” was, in fact, incorrectly marginalized. Instead, scientific research had proved that the vaccine or even the method of administration cause more fatalities than initially believed.

However, whether or not the statement is appropriately prohibiting routine administrations should be made clear with lexical clarity and supported by scientific evidence. The argument made should not withhold the public’s own choices to be inoculated, especially since the statement unambiguously states that the vaccine indeed does save many lives. The evidence provided would potentially reveal whether there is fault with the vaccine itself or the method of administration, or whether ill luck or physiological eccentricities is the cause of death.