“Nature’s Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature’s Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville’s schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.”

Nature’s Way should consider looking at more indicators and and re-evaluate its consumption about the connection between health products and the level of exercising in the Plainsville.

Firstly, Nature’s Way is assuming that since the residents in Plainsville are

exercising a lot, they must also consume health-related products. This connection might be misleading as people could be exercising as a natural way of keeping fit but may not be interested in taking health supplements. If their assumption proves to be wrong, Nature’s Way will not be selling as much as they expected and the franchise may fail.

Also, the managent should take the town’s demography into account. For instance, they should find out whether this is a town for young professionals, families or retirees. Sometimes young people tend to exercise a lot but do not have money to spend on other supplement products. Not all who are exercising will be able to pay for additional health products. Nature’s Way is making a mistake not taking other factors into account.

In addition, the fact that schoolchildren are keeping fit from such young age might be the thing that will backfire Nature’s Way. Since they are always fit and healthy, they might have little need for health food and other products. Again the link between exercising and consuming health products is weak and may prove disastrous when calculating future gains to decide today’s investment.

Instead of generally classify its profitability in terms of hard-to-measure criteria like “leading healthy lives”, Nature’s Way should consider finding more about their customers. For example who make up the most of the composition of their customers? Is it the young professionals or middle-aged or retirees? They should try to learn about customers’ lifestyles, health behaviors etc. These will help evaluate whether Plainsville is a good place for a franchise or not.

In summary, Nature’s Way should not depend on exercising as an indicator for their health products but rather, study customers’ behaviors on their own to better predict feasibility of their franchise.