ok

The author of the argument claims that the replacing of Mathescam Bridge will be not be a effective measure. To support his argument, author presents the evidence of demand of drivers, that they mainly complain about uneven pavement and close lanes. So the expectation of the commuter can be made by repairing the Mathescam Bridge in the evening time, when traffic is low. But, current proposal has increase the toll tax by 50%, which is not at all in the interest of the driver. Though the argument has merits, because of weak assumption, lack of evidence and vague language, the argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed. A few of the flaws are as follows.

To begin with, the author assumes that the repairing of the Mathescam Bridge will solve the current problem of the bridge, which has uneven pavement and close lanes, and no need for a $12 million new bridge. However, the author has not mentioned any data that the repair cost will be much less the cost of the new bridge. If the repairing cost is much higher that $12 million, then the author argument will be weak.

Secondly, the author assumes that the repairing work can be done in the evening, when traffic is less. But, author fails to present any data that show the duration of completion the work. If the repair work takes 2 years to finish whereas the new Mathescam Bridge can be completed in 6 months. Then, the over all business loss for the both cities due to repair activity may be higher compare to the new bridge.

Lastly, the author claims that the current increase in toll tax will affect the transportation cost, which eventually effect the economy of both cites. There might be the possibility that after the establishment the new Mathescam Bridge, the mayor waives off the toll tax. But, the author argues the impact of the economical loss seeing the short time increase in toll. Moreover, there might be possibilities that the repairing of the bridge is not be cost effective if the cost near about $11 million. Then, the decision of new bridge is a good idea.

The argument, as written, is categorically unconvincing; the author could strengthen his argument if he provide few statistical data that cost of repair is very low and time take for the repairing activity is also low. Without these information, the argument is less persuasive.

To conclude, though the author has presented an interesting argument, but deeply flawed. Had the author provide the data as mentioned above, the argument can be mage stronger. Otherwise, the argument will remain unconvincing.