"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the numb

The author of the letter which is sent to the editor of the Central Plaza store asserts few points that leads to appeal for a complete ban of skateboarding in the Plaza. The author made few assumptions by which he tries to put forth his definitive statement to the editor. Despite of his numerous assumptions, the author of the letter might hold water- if some of his unfounded assumptions regarding the appeal are not substantiated in a viable manner, might dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

Firstly, the author of the letter asserts that the number of users has been steadily decreasing while the skateboarding rate increased in an exponential manner. This unequivocally says that the skateboarding ‘trend’ has started recently and cannot be a viable attribute for the reduction of number of customers in a ‘steady’ manner. It is also true that here the author fails to consider the statistics of surrounding shopping areas or market where the skateboarding trend may have or may have not prevailed most certainly. Thus, one can’t say that this trend leads to the decrease in the market at the Central Plaza as

there might be other aspects too that decide the frequency of customers to hover over the place.

Moreover, the author further says that there is increase in vandalism and litter because of the skateboarding. But, how can one relate garbage throwing and skateboarding? Skateboarding is just an ostentatious activity by young generation which has nothing to do with the littering. You just cant expect that each and every individual who is trying to skate is having some food in his/her hands. There might also be a lack in dustbins in the Plaza too. Considering the act of vandalism, if there is a ban over the skating in that area where the act prevails, then there might be more vandalism but this time between the shop keepers and the people who skate.

Even though the author meant that there might be an uneasiness for the shoppers who step by to shop in the Plaza, the author also fails to consider that there are other aspects too by means of which the shop can attract people. In this contemporary world, people always get attracted by the huge amount of discounts and the low rated sales too. Thus, the author has to consider that the business also depends the most on other factors too- even more than the environment where the shop is located at in the city area.

In a nutshell, the author of the letter who tries to appeal that there must be a ban to this act of skating in that particular area of Central Plaza might come to second conclusion if he considers the substantiations given and rethink over his argument.