"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The author contends that, in order to attract more viewers to the program and losing further revenues from advertising, his television station should restore the time devoted tho weather and local news to its previous level. To support his conclusion, he cites various evedences. Although, these evidences appear to bolster the argument, a meticulous analysis will show otherwise. So, the writer need to cite the following specific evidences.

First of all, the writer presumes that, previously his Television station used to devote more time in wheather and local news. However, he has not cited, by how much time were allocated for this. This case may go in either way, if the time period were significantly increased, that may strengthen the argument, while if the duration were increase by just few minutes, then the author's assertion might go unwarranted.

Second of all, the writer assumes, local businesses that used to advertise during their late-night news programs canceled because of the decreased time period for weather and local news. Perhaps, this might not be the case, the local businesses might have canceled their advertising contracts because of their shortage of fund or may be they found the advertising ineffective. If either of this case were there, then the writer's contention may go baseless.

Third of all, the writer is assuming that, time for weather and local news for restoring the advertising contracts matters the most. He presumes, time plays a pivotal role in attracting them, however, they may have cancelled their advetisement because of the television takes expensive rate. Perhaps, ther might be other televisons which provides the same advertisement for the cheaper amount.

In conclusion, in order to persuade me in his contention, he needs to elucidate the above specific evidences. Without these specific evidences, he couldnot convince me in his assertion.