"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The first look at the argument seems convincing and you will agree with the author that we should restore the time devoted t weather and local news o its former level. However, as we go deep into the matter, we can easily grasp many flaws and realize that the argument lacks the vital evidence to validate its claim.

Firstly, the author states that the late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news, but he has not provided any statistics to prove this. He should have studied the late-night news properly for the past year and provided data to show that the time for national news has been increased.

Secondly, the author states that they have received complaints from viewers about the station's coverage of weather and local news. Again, there is insufficient data to prove this. There can be several reasons why the program is not attracting more viewers. Maybe the content is uninteresting, or maybe it's the time of the day. The author should have conducted a survey for the late-night news program viewers to see if the increased time of national news is the actual reason behind them not getting more viewers.

Thirdly, the author states that local businesses that used to advertise during their late-night news program have cancelled their adverting contracts. Is the reason for them cancelling their contracts increased time for national news? If yes, how? Aren't advertisements shown during breaks? Do they not have commercial breaks? The author has made a false assumption and not provided proper reason for them losing the contracts.

To conclude, due to the above-stated flaws, the argument seems to be ill-founded. However, if the author had mentioned enough evidence and reasons, then the argument would have been infallible and leave no room for guessing. But as of now, the authenticity of the argument falls flat due to the insufficiency of the data provided.