"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

In the given argument the business manager asserts that we should restore time assigned to weather and local news to its former level. He mentions that it is necessary as complaints received from viewers were concerned with stations coverage of weather and local news. Additionally he states that advertising contracts from local businesses have gone down and to attract new viewers and avoid furthur decline in advertising revenue his suggestion must be followed. The aurgument seems convining initially although a complete scrutinity tells us that it has many loopholes and lacks strong evidence.

Firstly, The author has not stated what kind of complaints are received regarding the weather and local news coverage. It might be possible that the complaints are related to presentation of news and weather and nothing about the reduced time on the coverage of news and weather. Also the author fails to give evidence regarding how many complaints have been made and the number of complaint makers. It might be possible that only one person is registering complaint many times.

Secondly,the author has not provided any statistics regarding the cancellation of advertising contarcts. For example one or two cancelled contracts might not affect the news channel. Also it is possible that cancellation of contracts is due to overall reduced popularity of channel and has no connection with reduced time alloted for weather and local news.

Third, author fails to provide evidence as to how restoring time of weather and local news is going to attract new viewers to program. A television station earns viewers and popularity because of its overall content and popularity of other programs not just because of news and weather programms. Which means restoring time of weather and local news is not going to help attract new viewers as the other programmes on station might be unpopular.

Hence the author fails to provide clear and strong evidence for the given suggestion. This makes the argument weak and inconvincible.