"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

In the memorandum provided by the business manager of a televison station, he alleges that there were complaints from the viewers that the program has devoted less time to weather and local news. Moreover, the advertising firm - which advertises during that period of time has curbed the contract with the channel. The manager claims that if the time devoted to weather and news channels is restored, then there will not be loss of advertising revenues. Although the statements made by the manager seems to be legitimate, there are many flaws and unstated assumptions on which his arguments rests.

To begin with, the manager alleges that there was a decrement in the time devoted to the local news and weather. But, what made the channel to reduce its time? If there are other important national news happening in the world, then the reporters and newsreaders would seem to cover such news to gain TRP ratings. In such a scenario, the advertising revenues must increase. However, the reason for the increased time in national news is not provided by the author to evaluate his point.

In addition, there are complaints from the viewers concerning to the stations coverage of news and weather reports. But what are the complaints put forth by them? Is it regarding the decrement of the time or any other issue related to the genuinity of the news? How many complaints were received regarding this cause? If there are only 30 complaints from the viewers who allege that there is a decrement in the time, then the schedules cannot be changed just for the sake of few viewers. Moreover, are the complaints which are received pertains to only one class of people-like the ones who do not like national news? Hence, the author must have provided the number of complaints and the total number of viewers in order to validate his statement.

The advertising contract has been cancelled by the advertising firm. The author assumes that the decrement in the time for local news is a reason for it. But the reason for the advertising firm to cancel the contract was not mentioned in the memorandum. The advertising firm must have been incurring losses and needs to reduce some of its costs - which might be a reason for cancelling the contract. Had the author provided the reason for the advertising firm to cancel the contract, it would have buttressed his argument.

The time for the national news is increased by the channel. But the amount of time is not mentioned. If the late-night program is for 60 minutes, and in the recent change the national news reporting was extended to 5 minutes, then it would not be a significant difference in the time allocated to the local and weather news. The manager must have provided the time and statistics of the change in the program's schedule in order to evaluate his argument.

Furthermore, the program which is telecasted is during the late-night. Due to the recent stringent regulations, the public might have to leave to the offices early in the morning which makes them go to bed early in the night. In other words, the sleeping habits of the people might have changed during the recent times which caused for the less number of viewers and decrement of advertising revenues. The manager must have taken such cause while positing his argument.

In conclusion, although the manager's idea of restoring the news time seems logical, there are many flaws and unstated assumptions which needs to be introspected. The manager might have provided the reason for reducing the weather time, number of complaints received, reason for the advertising firm cancelling the contract and time which has been changed in favour of national news compared to the total length of the program in order to make is argument a cogent one.