The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument published in the newspaper editorial, there was a claim that the economy and the national identity of any country is threatened due to the presence of illegal immigrants. Thus, in order to prevent this danger, they must be returned back to the country of their origin. Though the claims put forth seems to be true, there are many unstated assumptions, which weaken the argument and require introspection.

Firstly, the author alleges that the autonomy of any country depends on the strength of its borders. Though it seems like it is a widely accepted claim, there must be proper evidence and test cases to explain how the strength of a country's borders reflects its autonomy. The author could have provided the statistics of the autonomy and the immigrants of a certain sample of countries in order to buttress his claim.

Secondly, there was a claim that the economy and national identity of a country are endangered due to the immigration. However, there are no supporting reasons to this statement. The immigrants in some ways may threat the indigenous people, but there might also be some of them who help in developing the country's economy by working in some jobs, which enhances the economy. There was no clear evidence to support his above mentioned claim. The author must have provided an example to support his claim that the country's identity is threatened due to the illegal immigrants to make his argument convincing.

Thirdly, if at all we believe that there are threats due to the invasion of illegal immigrants, there was no mention about the kind of threats. If they might get involved in robbery, firing and such deleterious activities, it could be a threat. However, if they enter just to make their livelihood, there would not be any threat to the community. As there was no mention regarding the threats, the claim weakens the argument.

Fourthly, the claim that illegal immigrants must be made to return to their own country is worthwhile. However, there was no mention of the plans or schemes about how they would be returned. If they do not have enough money to return, will the government provide the funding to leave them across the borders safely? If yes, who would be providing the funding? There was no mention about all the above mentioned queries in the argument. Had the author provided the convincing reasoning to all these assumptions, it would have strengthened his argument.

Lastly, there was no mention about how the illegal immigrants are entering the country across the borders. Every country usually takes measures to prevent the incoming of illegal people. However, if there are still people entering the country, there might be some defect in the system itself. Thus, in order to support his argument, the author might have provided the reasons for the illegal entry of the people. Is it due to the failure of the government or due to the intelligence of the immigrants?

To conclude, though the assumptions made in the argument seems convincing at the first look, if we evaluate thoroughly, there are many loopholes. The author must provide convincing reasons behind the threats, types of efforts to make the immigrants leave, the correlation between a country's autonomy and national identity and the kind of threats due to the immigrants in order to make his argument a cogent one.