"As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and more mysterious."

Do things become more comprehensible instead of becoming more complex and more mysterious through more knowledge we acquire, as the speaker asserts? It is tempting to agree with the proposition, but further reflection reveals that as we gain more knowledge things actually become more complex and more mysterious than previously thought. There is too many evidences to illustrate my viewpoint.

To support my viewpoint one need look no further than the areas of physics. Until up to the end of the 19th century, the classical physics have achieved an outstanding accomplishment, by which people think they made everything in the world around us simple and comprehensible. However, With Einstein's invention of theory of relativity to begin with, our knowledge of physics which advanced so rapidly for the next hundred years broke through most restrains existing in 19th century. Few would disagree, for instance, that Einstein's theory of relativity makes things more complex and mysterious, for most us are hard-pressed to imagine the flexible nature of the time and space, as well as imagine that how light change its direction of speed near the sun.

Another striking example that illustrates my viewpoint involves the area of atomic and particle physics, which also develop rapidly at the beginning of the 20th century. Our naked human eyes can not see the smaller unites which compose matters, of course. Few would disagree that things what we see are simple and comprehensible. Then atomic physics tell us all these matters are comprised of atoms, which are in turn comprised of protons, neutrons, and electrons. Later scientist discovered an even more fundamentally unites which is called the quark, asserting that all protons and neutrons are comprised of quarks. We can easily see that things become so complex and mysterious-- even need not refer the complex natures of these particles.

While so many theories are invented in order to comprehend the nature the things in the world, we find the inconsistency among them. For example, Theory of relativity and quantum mechanics are both one of the most important theories discovered in 20th century, but they have their own trouble when it comes to the area of each other. Recently, a new string theory developed to reconcile the discrepancy between them, which also tried to find out which are really the most fundamental particles. Nobody would think this new theory would made things simpler and more comprehensible, when it comes to the structure of the theory itself. For instance, it calls for ten dimensions-- with seven more dimensions added to the three ones which we are familiar with. Even physical scientists are hard-pressed to imaging this strange nature. Thus the developing of more and more knowledge make things more and more complex and more and more mysterious.

In the final analysis, it is tempting to agree with the speaker's assertion; however, further reflection of many instances in scientific areas reveals that things are becoming more complex as the more knowledge advances. Thus, the speaker's contention is fundamentally incorrect.