A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

A set of laws and rules are stipulated by any government in order to facilitate the lives of the people. Society must follow them irrespective of how stringent the rules are so as to lead a peaceful life. If there is a breach to certain set of protocols which were put forth, there will be chaos and disturbance in the society. Thus, I agree with the opinion that if a person commits a crime knowingly, he must be punished severely and should not be allowed to retain his civil rights.

To begin with, a crime which has been committed will have a drastic effect on the society. For instance, consider bribery, which was a crime according to the set of laws put forth in the constitution. If a person is taking bribes, he his generating the income which will not be taxable and due to this, there will be loss of revenue to the government to run smoothly. Thus, a person involved in this crime will be suspended from his job and fined for committing the crime. If no such rules were proposed, more people addict to such crimes which would become profound and would be tough to handle.

Secondly, consider the case of drunken drive accidents. According to the statistics from the Traffic Department in Hyderabad in 2010, about 75% of the accidents occurring on the roads are drunken drive cases. Hence, a person who has committed this crime would get his driving license banned forever and must pay a gargantuan sum of money as fine. As these protocols were set up, in the span of 5 years, in 2015, there was a decrease in the number of accidents by 78% according to a study. Thus, whenever such harsh rules were established, the people fear to commit the crime, as there would be a threat to their rights and thus such policies benefit the society.

Conversely, there would be some times where people need to commit a crime knowingly as the situation demands. To support this case, consider a person who needs to donate his blood to a person who was injured badly and is getting treated in the hospital. During this time, the donor can skip a red light in order to save a life. Though skipping a red light is a crime according to the rules, the completion of the mission is much more demanding than the rules. In this case, there must not be any breach to the rights of the person who has committed the crime knowingly.

To conclude, there are certain crimes committed by the people for their own benefit. During these times, such crimes must be condemned strongly and the person must not be allowed to retain his or her rights. However, there will be certain situations where a person commits a crime knowingly in order to save a life or such decent causes. In this case, proper investigation must be made and instead of belittling the crime, the person must be lauded.