The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview:

" In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for the plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer a significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based on are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answer to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Mayor of the city of Hillview alleges that if Autotech is allowed to build its manufacturing plant in that area, there will be an increase in the employment in the state. Because most of the people who are previously working in Computech programming company lost their jobs, all these unemployed workers can be allowed to work in the new industry. In order to improve this cause, the Mayor is requesting the City Council to provide tax incentives to attract the car manufacturing company. Although the ideas presented by the Mayor seems to be valid and legitimate, there are many flaws and unstated assumptions under which his argument rests.

To begin with, previously the employees are working under Computec computer software company. But the new industry which is proposed to be established is under the realm of automobile manufacturing. How can a computer programming software person expected to work under the manufacturing unit? If that unit requires some programming skills too, then that would be a valid argument. However, such a comparison or information regarding the new company was not put forth by the author, which weakens is notion.

In addition, the size of the manufacturing plant was not mentioned. Even the number of employees required to be appointed is not known. If the automobile industry is of a small size with only 100 employees, then the Mayor's argument that thousands of Hillview residents can be employed is false. Further according to the author, the place is a perfect site for the plant. On what basis this conclusion was made? If the raw material industries which supply goods to the new plant are in the surrounding areas, or the soil which is supported to build large machinaries is present in Hillview, then this would have been a valid argument. But, no such point is made by the mayor.

The author also claims that tax incentives attract the giant car manufacturing plant. But, one cannot establish a plant just because there are tax incentives. Many other factors like the temperature of the area, availability of raw materials, ease of transport etc. must be taken into account. Thus the Mayor's assumption that tax incentives will attract the manufacturing industry is fallacious.

There is an assumption by the author that the jobs will be provided only to the Hillview residents. What if the employees are already working under the manufacturing plant and need not require any additional workforce? The automobile industry might have been expanding its area just to create room for additional activities. Even if there is a requirement for additional workforce, the number of vacancies present and the eligibility of the residents of Hillview to work under such conditions must be mentioned. Just because a City council is providing tax benefits, no manufacturing industry would hire the workforce who are not capable, but the residents of the area. The author must have provided the valid reasoning behind this comparison and the number of vacancies in order to buttress his argument.

To conclude, although the Mayor seems to have an optimistic view regarding the burgeoning of the jobs to the citizens in Hillview, there are no supporting claims to support his argument. He must have provided the way in which tax incentives would attract the automobile industry, reasons for the claim that the area is the perfect place for the establishment of the industry, the comparison between the automobile and programming industry and the availability of number of jobs in the manufacturing industry in order to make is argument a cogent one.