A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument was proposed by a movie producer stating that for the movie "Working Title" the funding must be increased by 10% in order to produce a quality product. If such care was not taken, the movie would be assured to become a failure according to the producer. However, there are a number of flaws in the argument stated by the author and require introspection.

Firstly, there was a claim that the a first-time director is working in the project and he is ineligible to shoot the scenes swiftly. But this cannot be true because there are many directors in the industry who succeeded in completing the movie irrespective of their experience. Experience of a person cannot be linked with the success of a particular project. As the result of the given movie is said to be dependent on the unstated capability of the director, the argument is flawed.

Secondly, the claim that by hiring inexperienced people, there was saving in money does not have any supporting reasons. In addition to that, more money is to be paid to the actors and the crew. But the statistics of the amount of money saved with respect to the inexperienced director as well as the hike needed to be provided for the actors and crew was not mentioned. Had the author provided sufficient supporting statistics to his mentioned claim that there was a decrease of money to the callow directors and a wax in the remuneration to the crew, his statement would have been a cogent one.

Thirdly, there was a claim that the director will be shooting the same scene multiple times as he is inexperienced. However, the experience of a person cannot be linked to the claim mentioned. The crew might not have been performing well although the director gave lucid instructions. Just because there was a drawback in the time taken to shoot a scene and the director was not experienced, it is not right to say that there was a delay only because of him. Even if yes, supporting statements must be provided. Such claims were not at all mentioned by the author in his argument which weakens his idea.

To conclude, whenever there was a delay in the time to shoot, rise in the number of takes for a particular scene, rise in the expenditures of making the movie the producer claims that it was only due to the lack of experience of the director. This might or might not be true because there are no supporting claims to buttress his argument. The author must have provided compelling reasons behind the cause for the rise of budget and time as well as the role of crew in making the scenes in order to make his argument a cogent one.