Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technological innovations are part and parcel of human life. A novel innovation which is prevalent today becomes obsolete tomorrow. Thus, in the realm of scientific innovations and developments, there are always new things which are aimed to make the human lives easier. However, I do not agree with the notion that technology complicates our lives, but rather it simplifies it.

In the first place, consider the technological advances in the field of medicine. In the earlier days, to perform a cardiological surgery the doctors have to work on for hours together in order to make the surgery successful. Yet, in the recent years due to the advancements in the technology, a complicated operation could be performed using advanced medical instruments within a short period of time. In addition to the cardiological surgeries, there are innumerable sub-fields in the medical realm which are benefitting a lot due to the advances in technology. Hence, one can come to a conclusion that technological innovations facilitate the people to lead a simpler life.

Secondly, technology also plays a vital role in the field of military. According to the statistics, during the Second World War, around 3 lakh people lost their lives and around 5 lakh of them were wounded. The demolishment of property was intense and thousands of millions was wasted on waging a war. But, in the recent times, Robots - which can substitute the humans in a war - were being used so that a number of lives can be saved as well as the damage which is being effected to the country can be ebbed. Recently, Japan has used this scheme to fight a war, using Robots, with Korea and there was a minimal loss of property and lives when compared to the lethal incident which took place during the Second World War.

In contrast, technological advances in some situations make the lives of the people more complicated rather than making them easier. In 2014, US has conducted a survey in the state of Texas regarding the number of hours a person spends on his or her mobile phone in a day. The results were found to be astonishing, around 70% of the people spend more than 18 hours in a day while chatting, gaming and using for other works. They spend less than 10 hours in a week spending with their families and this made the government befuddled. People are getting involved in the gadgets too much so that they are not caring for their loved ones and thus making their lives pressurised and complicated. Thus leaning too much on technology as negative effects on the mankind.

In summary, technological advances benefit a lot to the people who use them in a proper manner. There are innumerable instances in which technology has facilitated the humans in leading luxorious life. However, if we rely too much on the technlogy, rather than making the lives easier,consequences of technology would be counter-productive.