The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that investment must be made in resources for unmanned space flight when compared to manned space flight. This is due to the claims that there are recent success stories of unmanned space probes and risk of sending people into the space can be prevented. Though the argument put forward looks legitimate, there are a number of flaws which require an introspection in order to make this argument a valid one.

Firstly, there was a claim that Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. But there are no evidences mentioned in the argument to substantiate this claim. The author must have provided the statistics that compare the costs between the manned and unmanned missions to validate this claim. In addition to that, there was no mention of the kind of dangers involved with the manned space flights. The author should have provided the statistics or evidence to the above mentioned claims in order to make his argument cogent.

Secondly, the author assumes that useful information can be gathered by sending unmanned space flights. But there is no evidence to support this statement. The author neither talks regarding the kind of technology used nor the advantages compared to manned spaceflights. In case if there is a major outage unmanned space flights may not be able to fix the issue. Usually, there must be a human to monitor the automatic work in order to make the satellite run smoothly. Otherwise there is also a threat to the human world if a satellite loses its path and falls on a geographic area. Thus, the author must have provided the data by comparing both the missions of manned and unmanned flights and how to overcome certain risks in unmanned flights. Even the kind of information gathered by unmanned flights must be put forth.

Lastly, there was no mention regarding the success stories. Were the success stories pertaining to the real unmanned flights or is it a prototype with limited capabilities? If the unmanned flights were prototypes only, we cannot come to the conclusion that they can replace the manned flights because, still rigorous testing must be conducted to validate the claim. However there was not a tinge of information regarding the success of unmanned flights compared to manned forces.

In conclusion, though the argument put forth by the author seems to have believable information, there are a lot number of flaws which need to be addressed in order to validate the argument. There must be supporting evidences to the success stories, dangers involved during the manned missions, costs comparison between both the models and lastly, the kind of information which is being gathered using the unmanned flights. All the above mentioned loopholes must be answered by the author in order to make is argument convincing.