The best way to teach—whether as an educator, employer, or parent—is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Teaching is an important element - whether to a child or any person - to eliminate the ignorance. However, the way in which a certain concept is taught determines the outcome of the result. I agree with the notion that the best way to teach is to praise the positive actions and ignore the negative ones.

To begin with, as one praises the actions of a student, the confidence levels burgeons rapidly and motivates the person to become successful. For instance, according to the survey conducted at New York primary school, children who were praised frequently for their actions showed significant improvement of grades than the students who were condemned incessantly. This proves that as the teacher accolades the pupil regarding the actions he/she has performed, it improves the confidence of the student and helps in the overall development of the child.

In addition, as one praises the positive actions, the child does not fear to take risks in his/her life. This phenomenon holds true even to an employee in an organization. To illustrate, in the Cynerent Tech Corporation, an employee who was praised for his performance during the year-end and was provided humongous amount of bonus eventually came up with a revolutionary idea- which increased the profit of the organization by 25%. Had the employer’s boss not praised the subordinate, he would not have taken the risk to improvise the older idea. Hence, positive accolades drive the people to take risks in life.

Furthermore, in the case of parenting, children do not lie to the parents when they were praised earlier for their positive actions. If a parent censures the child for a negative action, the child, in the fear of condemnation, tries to prevaricate whenever a mistake has been committed. This notion is pernicious to the future of the child. Thus, if parents praise the children for their positive actions, children tend to be honest.

In contrast, there might be certain cases where condemnation is necessary for the betterment of the person. For instance, when the negative actions of King Ashoka during the 17th century were criticized by his supporters, the king repented for his actions and well-behaved later. If the actions were not condemned, then there would have been deleterious effects to the mankind. Hence, in certain cases where the actions bring much harm, it is advisable to criticize the negative actions.

In conclusion, there are many instances when people get motivated and take risks in life when constantly praised for positive actions. Such a notion also leads to the betterment of the children during their childhood. However, there are certain instances when the actions cause harm to the society on a large scale, such people must be condemned for their negative actions.