Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of an action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing that action.

Any action which is performed by an individual has to take various factors into consideration. An action which is perceived as moral by a particular sector of people in the society may even face rebuttals from another half of the same society. Most of the times the intention with which the action is performed results in the predicted results, however, there might be certain cases when the prognostications of an actions would be counter-productive. Hence it is not the results of an action which is important, but rather the intent with which the individual has performed it.

To begin with, good and bad may vary from person to person according to their own definition. For instance, consider the case of a child who is condemned by his mother for performing a wrong deed. The intension of the mother is to make the child immune to wrong deeds in the world for his future growth. But, the child may perseive in a wrong way that he tries to prevaricate when he performs another wrong act. In this scenario, one cannot say that the action performed by either the mother or the child is bad. It is the way in which a certain act is perceived differently by two different people which leads to opposite results. Had the child understood the intension of his mother, then there would not be dire consequences. Hence, it is the perception which matters rather than the intension to provide a result of a consequence.

There might be certain cases when it is difficult to interpret the intent of an action. During such cases, it might be possible to evaluate the result. For instance, consider the recent action taken by the government of India regarding Demonitization-invadidating the higher denominated currency notes-whose actions gained mixed responses from the public. The supporters of the action believe that the action can eradicate the black money growing in the nation and thus lead to better economic gains. In contrast, there are some economists who argue that these actions would lead to inflation in the economy rather than doing good to the society. During such a scenario with mixed responses it is not possible to evaluate either the action nor the result of the action.

There might be certain cases when the results of the actions must be taken into account than the intent of the person who has performed the action. If the boss of a employee always condemns him for his performance, it would provide deleterious effects to the company irrespective of whether the notion of the boss is because of some personal grudge or the performance of the employee. In such cases, as the results are bad, irrespective of the intension, the act is not moral.

In conclusion, it is difficult most of the times to evaluate the intension as well as the results of an action. The intension holds a better edge compared to the actions in certain scenarios. If the results are too harmful to a person, community or an organization, then irrespective of the intension of the action, it must be perceived as amoral.