1. The true test of the greatness of a work of art is its ability to be understood by the masses.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The main aim of an artist is to think creatively and project it to the society, so as to receive the accolades from the people. In order to be the best, an art work must be very lucid so as to attract greater portion of the population towards its work. Thus, I agree with the fact that if an art must be the appreciated, it must be understandable by the greater portion of the society.

Firstly, consider the work of a literature created by an artist. The main idea of the artist is to project his/her idea to the public so that they can understand the way in which the artist is perceive the things. However, if the person uses the critical language which might be understood only by a sector of people, the art work fails to burgeon profoundly in the wider sections of the society. The same case has happened in the recently published literature work by a naive author, Daween. Hence, one of the most important criteria of an art must be to make the work as simple as possible.

Secondly, as most of the people believe that an art is the best way to project wide range of ideas in a short framework, the important theme of the art must be its ability to reach out even to such sections of the society where a person does not have any basic knowledge of art. For instance, most of the artistic works will be displayed in the museums where people get attracted from various parts of the world. All of them might not come from the same background and sector. So there must not be jargons which will be understood only by a few set of people.

Despite all the above mentioned criticalities, there will be some works for which the audience must get a prior knowledge of basics in order to understand the art. For instance, consider an artwork which has been portrayed recently at the Mumbai art exhibition by the famous artist Leo. He has done the painting in such a way that the audience must have the knowledge of the subtle differences between Violet and Purple colors in order to perceive the art in correct manner. As most of the people unaware of that fact, could not appreciate the art.

In conclusion, an art work which is mostly accepted in the wider range of people, in most of the cases is the one which is lucid in nature so that it can be perceived by wider range of people. Though if some art works are typically critical to understand, it is the job of the artist to provide the people basic knowledge of the jargons in order to understand the art.