An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the argument given, the author suggests that the government of Tagus has to promote the new type of millet so as to curb the deficiency of vitamin A among its people. There are many points on which this decision stands. Though the argument put forth seems convincing, there are many unstated assumptions which need introspection in order to make this argument a cogent one.

To begin with, the author alleges that there was a deficiency of vitamin A among the people in Tagus. But solid reason for the deficiency was not mentioned. Was the deficiency due to any atmospheric conditions or water related problems? If it is due to any such conditions then measures must be taken to prevent some practices. However, the reason for that question was not mentioned in the argument provided.

Secondly, there was a comparison of cost between new breed of millet which is high in vitamin A and the older one. But, the reason for the higher cost was not mentioned. One cannot assume that a farmer would readily purchase the new variety by blindly believing what he organization says. Was the increase in cost due to scarcity of the new variety? If so, what can be done to increase its production? If the reason for the increase was mentioned, the farmers would readily accept the proposal and adhere to it.

In addition to that, are all the farmers ready to use the new variety in their fields? What if there are any negative effects to the field of the farmer when these seeds are sown? Has any testing been conducted on any smaller scale so that there are any unwarranted consequences? If there are any negative effects due to the production of newer seeds, most of the farmers may not adopt to the change.

There is also a point that subsidies would be provided to the farmers for farming the new variety of millet. However, the amount of subsidy which is being provided is not mentioned. For instance, if the cost is $100 per kilogram of new millet and the government provides only $50 as subsidy, most of the farmers who cannot pay the additional $50 cannot agree with the plan. Thus, the amount of subsidy which is being provided has to be mentioned by the author.

Most importantly, the reason behind the improvement of vitamin A due to this new variety has to be mentioned. How is it different from the older one? How does that change improve the concentration of vitamin A? Are there any side effects for it? One cannot come to a conclusion that people can readily adopt to a new variety without proper evidence. Had the author provided the valid points to answer these questions to buttress his argument, it would have been a cogent one.

To conclude, though the points put forth by the author in the argument seems legitimate, there are many factors - reason for deficiency, how subsidies are provided, farmers interest to adapt to the new variety and comparison with the older variety of millet - which not mentioned which weakens the argument made by the author. Had the author provided compelling reasons for all those questions, his argument would have been convincing.