People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Decision making is the most important part in a person's life. There will be many instances in the life cycle of any living entity on the planet, where a crucial decision must be made. But, the decision which is made by the person must be based on a logic but not through emotion. Thus, I agree with the notion that people who take decisions based on emotion are poor decision makers, even though they can justify their decision later based on logic.

To begin with, consider the recent issue of Demonetization in India. The government has taken a bold step to invalidate the currency so as to curb the black market. Though the decision taken has to be lauded as it has long term benefits, the common man has suffered a lot due to that change. It is the emotion-"to impede the waxing corruption"- which has made the government to take the decision but, when it had some negative consequences, justification of those decisions is done with logic behind that decision.

Secondly, in any sport, quick decisions must be made at a given point of time. For instance, during the Cricket World Cup, the Indian Captain has opted to allow a part-time bowler to bowl the final over of the innings. He has taken that decision because his emotion-to play in a defensive strategy-drove him to it. However, when India lost the match, the team tried to cover up their fault by bringing out a logic that the pitch-place where the sport is played-is not adhering the playing condition. Thus, it is a poor decision which lead to the loss of the game.

There are many other instances where hasty decisions are taken at first, but try to bring some convincing points later. Most of the people who are in the prison perform notorious acts just because of emotion. Though most of them contrite later, they do not express it openly to the public, instead they justify by saying that the person who was a victim because of them was not a righteous one so as to justify their assault.

In contrast, there might be certain instances when certain decisions must be taken based on emotion but not logic. For instance, if there is a disaster at a place such as flooding or fire accident at a certain place, the government must act with celerity. Most of the people might have lost their lives due to the incident and hence that emotion must be considered, but not any logic behind the occurrence of the calamity while taking that decision.

In conclusion, in most of the cases, many constraints must be carefully taken into consideration. Logic must be given a better hand compared to emotion while taking a decision. However, there might be certain instances when emotion also has to be considered. Hence, people have to understand the situation carefully while taking any decision and act accordingly.