The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Knowledge is an evolutionary process. There are innumerable facts and axioms which are prevalent in the world. In addition to that, there are many contradictory notions too. A widely known belief today becomes obsolete tomorrow. People do accept the change inevitably even if there is a contradiction to it at the earlier stages. Despite all the theories, it is true that a person can perceive the newer knowledge to innovate a theory if and only if he or she rejects the familiar.

To begin with, consider the example of Darwin's theory of evolution. The entire community was believed in a certain notion and was reluctant to agree with his theory of evolution. They lambasted Darwin and banished him out of the society. Ultimately, over a period of time, it was his proposals which became widely accepted in the contemporary world. Had Darwin got humiliated and halted his learning process, he wouldn't have come up with his theory of evolution. Hence, it is true that one must not give up in his or her beliefs even if it contradicts the community.

Secondly, developing the self-knowledge is also important along with the rejection of the familiar. For instance, consider Mark Zukerburg, who was the founder of the world's most popular social community, Facebook. He dropped out of the school and began to learn for himself. He believed in his own ability to learn the new innovations and incorporated them in his works, so as to come up with the revolutionary ideas. Mark did not believe in his professors banal way of approach to coding, rather he developed his own thinking abilities and succeeded in his life. Thus, believing in one's self is as important as rejecting the familiar.

Conversely, there are certain cases where rejection of the familiar is detrimental to the society. To support this, consider the case of Bhagat Singh, a famous freedom fighter of India. During colonization of the British over India, most of the senior leaders like Mahatma Gandhi strived to achieve the Independence using non-violent schemes. However, Bhagat Singh contradicted this belief and started firing arms on the Britishers and other public property. Though his bellicose nature was helpful in the earlier stages, at the end there were many negative affects of his truculent nature, not only to him but also to the society. Thus, while one is rejecting the familiar belief and supporting one's own notion, he must take heed of the consequences too.

To conclude, when a person rejects the familiar known knowledge and beliefs, there is a possibility that he can come up with a new approach which would be lauded by the society. However, in certain cases, it could also backfire and cause a threat to the community. Thus, a person who wants to contradict a widely known belief must take extreme care and act scrupulously in order to come up with a new revolution.