"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The argument was provided in the aeronautics magazine in the letter to the editor column. According to the opinion of the person, investment of resources must be done in unmanned space flight compared to the manned space flight. This is because manned space flight is costly and dangerous. There are also recent events in which unmanned space flights seemed to be successful. Although the points put forth by the author seems legitimate, there are a number of flaws which require introspection and analysis.

To begin with, there is a mention that there is a recent success of series of unmanned space probes and satellites. However, the type of success is not mentioned. The kind of useful information provided by the unmanned space flights was not mentioned. Is the capturing of that useful information not possible with manned space flights? In what terms the success of the space flight is measured? There might be certain information which is only perceivable to the human eye, but not by a machine. How can this information be captured by using the unmanned flights? The author must have provided valid information regarding the above mentioned questions to validate his argument.

In addition, the author claims that manned space flight is costly and dangerous. However, the amount of risks involved might have been balanced by the results of the mission. There is not an iota of information about the kind of risks as well as the way in which the costs are higher compared to the unmanned space flights. Had the author provided the information or past events in which there are negative effects of manned space flights and the higher costs, it would have buttressed his argument.

The author alleges that great deal of information can be gathered by using the unmanned space flights. However, what if the unmanned space flight, while in the middle of a mission fails? If there was a human in the flight during such a failure, necessary actions can be taken. When there is no human involved, does the unmanned space flight have the ability to resolve the issues? The author must have provided information regarding the way in which the unmanned flights can replace a human, in order to strengthen his perception.

There is a comparison between the manned and unmanned flights and the information gathered from the author. But, the conditions in which both are tested is not mentioned in the argument. Unmanned satellites must have been successful only under certain conditions where the altitude of the satellite is minimal. At a higher altitude, manned flights might be preferred. Are the conditions similar to both manned and unmanned flights? It would also be necessary to compare the conditions along with the information from both manned and unmanned missions, in order to validate this point.

In conclusion, though the author seems to provide a useful alternative by sending unmanned space flights, there are many unstated assumptions on which the argument rests on. The author must have provided the comparison between the information obtained by manned and unmanned flights, reason for the precociousness and costliness of the manned flights, ways in which a critical issue can be resolved by unmanned flights and the conditions under which both the schemes are tested in order to make his argument a cogent one.