“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit.”

In the petition sent by the environmental protection group to the residents of Youngtown, the environmentalists allege that the Smith Corporation must not be permitted to develop the land which was a part of Wildlife Preserve. This is because this sale will not benefit the community under any circumstances and will inturn have disastrous consequences. Though the argument put forth by the environmentalists seems legit, there are many loopholes, unstated facts and assumptions which will weaken the argument.

To begin with, the sactuary preserves the survival of 300 bird species living in that area and a small percentage of land is given for development. But the total area of land and the percentage of land which is planned to provide were not mentioned. If the area is too large and there is negligible amount of land which is given for development, there might not be any disastrous consequences which threat the wild life. On the other hand, if the area is too small and if the development will come up with factories which release some toxic chemicals in the surroundings which will deteriorate the health of the birds, then it would be a threatening consequence. However, the area of the land, the amount which was given and the type of the diastrous consequences were not mentioned.

Secondly, the author alleges that the company plans to to build a small hotel on the land. There is also mention that the community relies on the sanctuary which is a famous tourist destination. In general, if a hotel is constructed it would benefit the community. But the author mentions that there are no circumstances under which this plan would be successful. If there are no hotels in that area, which is a tourist spot, it would help the community economically. In contrast if, there are already many hotels existing it might not be a good plan. In any way the is no mention about these two conundrums. Had the author provided strong reasons for these problems, it would have been a valid point.

Lastly, the Smith Corporation has already promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary. If this is true, then there will not be any disastrous consequences for the sanctuary. If not, there must be a mention of what kind of promises were made. Are the plans of the corporation going to be beguile to the sanctuary? If yes, then what are the steps taken to preserve the wild life? For example, if the community provides better facilities to the people who are working around the area, then it would benefit the community.

To conclude, though the author mentions many arguments regarding the consequences of permitting the corporation to develop the land, there are no solid assumptions which buttress the argument. Had the author provided the amount of area, kind of disastrous consequences and valid reasons for the assumption that the plan would not benefit the community, the argument would have been a cogent one.