The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

" If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decreased. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste."

In the recommendation provided in the newspaper, the writer alleges that the money on garbage disposal fees can be saved if the residents are encouraged to recycle the waste. A law which has been passed in the neighbouring town, Hayesworth has seen a positive results for this action and hence, by implementing an advertising campaign, Manstown also would have the same result. Although the argument put forth by the author seems legitimate, there are certain factors which are needed to be taken into consideration while implementing the change.

To begin with, the Manstown is compared with neighbouring town, Hayesworth while estimating the results of a consequence. However, various factors must be taken into account while comparing the households of two different towns. What is the population of both the states? What is the geographic area of one town compared to another? If the town Hayesworth has lesser number of people compared to Mansontown, it would be easier to pass a law for a small number of people. But, as the numberof people in a town increases, it might be difficult in certain cases to make the citizens to agree with the law. Hence, it is necessary to compare the towns in terms of geography and population in order to evaluate the prediction.

Secondly, the author claims that the garbage disposal costs have reduced significantly in the Hayesworth. However, the exact statistics were not provided. If the costs reduced from 50$ per household to 49$ then, although there is a decrease, it would be minimal. Moreover, the costs must be compared to other towns in the state when evaluating the result. Suppose all the other towns in the country have only 20$per household and the amount has decreased in Hayeswoth from 50$ to 25$. In this scenario, although the cost has reduced significantly, when compared to other towns, it is still higher. Thus, the statistics of costs which has reduced and comparison with other towns must be taken into consideration.

In addition, the kind of garbage must be compared between both the towns to predict the success of the idea. Is the garbage present in the Mansontown possible to recycle? Hayesworth people might be using paper and glass much more when compared to Mansontown. If the people in Mansontown use plastic instead of glass cups and paper cups, then it would be difficult to recycle the plastic. If such a scenario is true, the people must be first made to use the paper and glass instead of plastic before passing a law. Hence, the type of materials used and the garbage must be compared between the two towns.

An advertising campaign is proposed by the author to encourage the residents to recycle. But, in the town which is being compared, Hayesworth, it was not an advertising campaign, rather a law which has been passed requring the households to recycle the garbage. Passing a law would propose a stringent rule compared to implementing an advertising campaign. However, it might also be a case that the people of Mansontown would be environmental friendly and support the cause irrespective of a law or a campagin. In order to evaluate this point, the perception of the people towards the environment and their acceptance to a campaign and a law must be evaluated.

There is a claim that if the people do not recycle, they have to pay a fine. The amount of fine must be mentioned in order to evaluate this point. If the amount is too paltry, then, people might pay a fine instead of recycling the garbage. Moreover, the cost of recycling must also be mentioned. If the cost of recycling surpasses the cost of fine, then people might pay the fine instead of recycling. Furthermore, the economic conditions of both the towns must be compared to evaluate this point.

In conclusion, the author must have provided the comparison between the economic factors, area, population, type of garbage, nature of the people towards a law and a campaign and amount reduced in the other town in order to buttress his evaluation.