The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

" If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decreased. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste."

The recommendation attempts to bridge a relationship between reducing garbage disposal fees and encouraging local residents to recycle more waste. The conclusion is based on the premises that, the neighbouring town passed a law to reduce garbage for recycling waste and was successful, so would be Masontown just by encouraging it's residents. However, in deeper analysis, it is evident that, certain relevant aspects have not been taken into consideration, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

The local newspaper urges the residents of Masontown to recycle garbage more to save money and provides an example of neighbouring state in this regard. However, the problem is that, the neighbouring state, Haesworth, did not just urge it's people to recycle garbage but also passed a law to implement that. When people will see that, they will have to pay extra money for dumping garbage, obviously there will be a reduction of garbage automatically. So, the same result will happen in Masontown just by encouraging the residents is not a strong claim to sustain. The author of the editorial should have presented more information regarding his belief that just encouraging will be enough to reduce garbage to substantiate his claim.

Another problem in the argument is that, something worked for a state does not justify the claim that, it will also work in another state. There can be situation like, the living standard of the states discussed differ in a great way. If the residents of Masontown live a substandard life compared to Hayesworth, they will not pay much heed about the issue of garbage dumping wihtout any strict law. When living standard becomes low, residents become more concerned with othe things like earning livelihood, accomodation etc. So, the author should have provided more information to compare those two states, so that we can have a sound idea about the actual situation.

Moreover, there can be other factors working for Hayesworth. There can be some company who are working on recyclable garbage and that is why they were collecting those things from the household of Hayesworth. If that is the case, automatically the amount of garbage will decline in Hayesworth.

Finally, to conclude, the argument lacks information and seems to provide irrational assumptions. The conclusion of the editor seems tenuous due to lack of supporting evidence. The author should have presented more concrete information to substantiate his viewpoints and to make his argument more cogent.