The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

" If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decreased. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste."

Garbage disposal in town a matter of big concern and responsibility. For a place to be devoid of potential disease or unwanted smelly spots, it is necessary that garbage disposal be strictly carried out. There are many kinds of wastes like bio-medical wastes, recyclable wastes, non-recyclable wastes or even bi-degradable wastes and all of these wastes need to be treated separately using different methods that are available today.

The current condition in Masontown is that the cost of garbage disposal is very high and the local government would want a reduction in the fees. It seems possible that, if every Masontown citizen is encouraged to recycle their waste, garbage disposal fees will substantially reduce. However this may not seem so.

Firstly, there is no statistical data given as to what percentage of waste generated in Masontown is recyclable waste. Keeping that in mind, if garbage disposal facilities are suddenly reduce, there would be too much waste generation if there is not much present to recycle. A rough statistical idea should be mentioned or should be known by the governing body so that they can take a correct decision as to whether it is really necessary to curb garbage disposal fees.

Secondly, considering that a statistical analysis is made and it is found that recyclable waste is more in quantity than other types, they might as well setup huge recycling plants, that could cost a lot at once and possibly more than what garbage disposal costs. It would probably take quite some time to build.

Thirdly, taking action just based on what result a neighboring town - Hayesworth has achieved, is preposterous. Each town has a different structure, economy, population, energy scheme and even waste management requirement. So just because a neighboring town has gotten results doesn't mean this town will too.