The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview:

"In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing."

Unemployment is a serious issue, and considering the current unemployment status of the Hillview city, it appears quite promising that unemployment will greatly alleviate if the automobile manufacturing company Autotech is convinced to set up a new plant within the Hillview city, but unfortunately, this is not as promising as it looks to be.

Firstly, the Mayor thinks that convincing Autotech will provide a solution for the unemployment present in the city and employment could be provided by building the plant and working in there but this is less likely to happen because the people who have been unemployed for a year used to work at a computer software programming company which shut down. Since Autotech is an automobile company, it is obvious that the number people with a mechanical background are expected to join is higher than that of people with a software programming background.

Even if the people from the software programming background were to apply for this firm, they would have to undergo a possibly special training course, apart from what people from the mechanical background undergo. From the company's point of view, its an additional expense to them and wouldn't prefer the intake of those people.

Thirdly, the Mayor just states that the landfill is perfect for the construction of the manufacturing plant, but based on what points? The Mayor fails to state the reason why the landfill is a perfect place for the plant set up site. If not checked, that landfill may be a weak area for the site.

Lastly, use of tax incentives to attract people towards the "goal" seems misleading. That is because, last year the unemployment was very high due to which the budget of the city would have decreased, thus lowering current taxes would just tend to normalize the tax per person like how it was before.

This article states results which do not go hand in hand with the amount of information provided. I conclude that the argument is flawed due to the reasons mentioned previously.