Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of an action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing that action.

Everyone in this world has a choice. It is upto them, whether to do something good or do something bad. While these two sentiments are highly subjective, it is not morally correct if the amount of good that results from an action is greater than the amount of bad results from that action. It is not simple arithmetic! Arithmetic cannot be applied to feelings - even for the most apathetic person.

I feel that this claim is only partially correct. The only correct part was that the end result has turned out to be a good deed. There are many examples where the claim can be stated false. Suppose there is huge unrest among the citizens and the government orders the authorities to charge on to them, that is bad! Its morally incorrect to beat up hundreds of citizens but the end result was peace, right? The people have calmed down but still, the method used to mollify the mob was rather violent and morally incorrect.

Another example may be, a typical criminal father who just wants to earn money to help his young child struggling with a certain illness, has chosen this path of robbery or even murder. Here also, the end motive is good deed - very fatherly, but the path chosen is morally wrong - killing people or robbing people is incorrect and should be penalized(not that it is not penalized).

I would like to say that while assessing the morality of the actions, it is equally necessary to judge the intent of action and thereby the course of action - while the nature of the outcome is irrelevant at this point, the actions or methods taken to perform the good deed should also be assessed and speaking of the result - whether good or bad, if the path toward the end result is a bad pathe, it should be considered as morally incorrect and not just based on the result of the action.