The following report appeared in the newsletter of GoldenAge Independent and Assisted Living Facilities for Seniors.

"A novel therapy has come to our attention that promises to significantly decrease the incidence of dementia in our aging community. According to a 21-year study led by the Albert Einstein College of Medicine and funded by the National Institute on Aging, while many physical activities like playing tennis or golf, swimming, bicycling, dancing, and walking for exercise provided cardiovascular benefits for seniors, only one physical activity offered protection against dementia: that was frequent dancing. At GoldenAge we currently provide residents with extensive recreational facilities. These include tennis courts, a fitness center, and lap pools in each senior apartment complex. However, we have no dance studio space at GoldenAge, nor any social dance programs.

Clearly, social dancing can prevent or delay the onset of dementia. Since the onset of dementia inevitably signals the imminent move of residents from our independent living apartments to the more heavily staffed and therefore more costly to operate assisted living quarters, we recommend the establishment of social dance programs at all GoldenAge senior residences—as a cost-effective, positive way to ward off dementia and enable our residents to remain in their independent living quarters."

Respond by writing an essay in which you discuss the specific evidence you would need to judge the validity of the argument and explain how this evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

We all know that aging is inevitable and it comes with the whole package which includes multiple ailments (although usually not together!) and one of the plethora of ailments due to aging is the onset of dementia. Dementia is a neurological degeneration of the memory power of our brains and it affects the long-term or the short-term memory areas of our brain. The author writes that the GoldenAge Independent and Assisted Living Facilities for Seniors has become aware about a therapy to avoid dementia - if not, then at least ameliorate the number of cases of dementia.

While this news may provide an ephemeral joy to the readers, it seems to me that it most certainly won't. Physical activities like jogging, playing golf, swimming, or playing badminton is surely beneficial for the health of our heart, muscles, and bones for all ages alike, but there is no concrete reason given, as to why must a reader believe that dancing "clearly" prevents the onset of dementia. Its not clear, its just obscure. There is also no espousal for other activities NOT helping in the prevention of dementia.

Secondly, the author cites that this solution is the result of a 21 - year study done at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine. For this, there is no references from the research paper and probably this information was provided because it could be a potential selling point.

GoldenAge states that the residents of their quarters have access to various amenities like tennis courts, a fitness center, and lap pools in each senior apartment complex but they do not have dance studio. Without sufficient evidence that dancing could actually help ward off dementia, the sanction committee would have some reservations about the proposal, that they need a dance studio built under the pretext of dance being a preventive measure for dementia

Talking about selling, from the statement cited by the author, it seems that GoldenAge is more worried about losing the elderly people from their facilities to the more prominent and bigger homes. They blatantly state that the onset of dementia causes an outflow of old people to heavily staffed and more expensive living quarters, which may look as a concern expressed for their customers but it could be that they just mean business - by adding a social dance program, they would require choreographers or dance teachers, and would have to pay them so they would probably increase the living cost of their residencies, which definitely doesn't speak of being "cost effective".

I agree to the fact that dancing promotes positiveness and fitness among everyone and also, is a lot of fun but the lack of information regarding the connection between dancing and prevention on the onset of dementia doesn't make it appealing for the establishment of social dance programs or building of a dance studio.