The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Late night news are very popular among among many other late TV shows. However, the business manager of this particular TV channel has noticed lots of complaints regarding the content of the channel. The claims held by the manager seem to revive the channel back to popularity but it is not the case, due to the following reasons.

Firstly, the channel started devoting more of its news time to national news and the remainder would go to the weather and local news. In the time period of a year, people started to complain about the channel's content because it seems that they are more keen on watching the local news and weather reports. Due to this, the TRP rating of the channel has reduced which means the "faith" of the people on this channel has reduced.

If the channel suddenly resumes its old timetable back, it may seem but natural that previous viewers may return, but what if there is another competing news channel? It is quite possible that the second channel provides better information or more relevant information and spends a good amount of its time discussing local news and weather reports. It is also possible that the viewers have decided to abandon the original channel and switch to the new channel that provides the viewers with what they want.

Secondly, the manager states that their channel has lost advertisement contracts from local businesses. Local business will flourish if they get popular fast and the way to do this is to grab hold of a TV channel that has high TRP rating. It is obvious that the local businesses decided to annul their contracts because if there are very few viewers this would result in an inefficient advertisement campaign and since advertisement is not just limited to just THIS channel, the businesses might just as well cancel their contract. This has led to a drop in the revenues generated from advertising for local businesses and the news channel seems to be in loss. In order to regain their revenues from adverts, they must come up with a better strategy to attract companies and viewers alike.

In conclusion, just going back to the old timetable in anticipation of an increased TRP rating would not suffice and the company needs to to come up with new and better marketing strategies to make their channel rich with adverts and viewers.