The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The manager argues to expand the coverage of weather and local news on all news programs to attract more viewers to WLSS television station. To support his argument he states that as station as started covering national news more than weather and local news viewers have stopped watching WLSS station. Stated in this way author fails show major key factors on the basis of which the argument can be evaluated.

Firstly, the author assumes that, because the coverage of national news has been increased in late night show the number of viewers has decreased. It is very nebulous assumption, as it may have happened that viewers don't get time to watch TV late night now a day. Or it may also happen that WLSS competitors have started more interesting show, so more viewers are attracted to that show. If the manager have provided more strong evidence that night viewers of his station demand for weather and local news then it could be considered.

The second point is that, the author directly assumed that complaints received from viewers regarding station’s coverage of weather and local news suggest that they want more coverage of it. It is not stated explicitly that, what the nature of complaint is; what is the type of complaint. It may be possible that viewers are complaining for more coverage of national news, even in day time also. Or maybe they are demanding for some other type of coverage of news. So it would be unfair to judge his argument on this basis.

Lastly, author tries to make connection between the number of advertisement and the number of viewer for station. If many advertising contract have been cancelled with WLSS it doesn't mean it is because the viewer of WLSS station for late night shows have been reduced. It may be possible that the businesses are running through crisis and can't afford to advertise. Or it is also be possible that by advertising with WLSS the desired output is not obtained, so they might be not advertising with WLSS.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive. To bolster the argument he must provide more information so the reader can be convinced. To better access the argument author must provide the information of what are the reason for businesses for not advertising with WLSS; what is the nature of complaints received; who all are the night viewers of WLSS station.