The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author concludes that the first-born monkey produce high level of cortisol. This conclusion is based on unclear studies. He/She showed up with very narrow prospect of study, so it is not reliable to assert anything upon this.

The author is concluding based on studies which has based merely on eighteen rhesus monkey, there is no proof that all rhesus monkey will show same clues on effects of birth order. Further he/she has added with a specific example (encounter with unfamiliar monkey) in which author has talked about only the first-born infant. It does not imply that the same behavior will be exhibited by grownups. And it is related to a particular type of situation.

Further the author provides an example of first-born human behavior in stimulating situation, which is totally irrelevant. How study for a human can be related to the rhesus monkey? And if we assume to be related again it provides proof for a particular type of situation only.

Another part of study give information of first time mother monkey, again it is not much relevant with the conclusion. There is not much information in study which allows us to relate the behavior of first time mother monkey with first born monkey.

It is much clear from this, that author has selected a study which provide an incomplete information. Due to which author’s conclusion cannot be verified. So the author should select a study which gives information related to rhesus monkey’s behavior in general and in different type of situations. Then only the conclusion can be provided with a proof.