Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

“Jack of all master of none” we all have heard this saying. In this competitive world it is necessary take knowledge of all fields. So it should be started from early stage of life. I agree with this recommendation, universities should need every student to take variety of courses which are not much related to their field.

Studying different courses can help the student in many ways. Very few students are sure with their liking and disliking from young age. As we all know our hobbies, liking, disliking all changes as we grow elder. For example, when we are young we like to play much irrespective of what the weather is or what time it is but as we become young, we don’t like much to go out in summer or in noon time. So studying different courses outside the student’s field allow him/her to know his/her true interest and in which field he/she can do well.

Some of the students select their field by the influence of their surrounding or parents. And in some case parents forces too. In both the cases if student get opportunity to study different courses, he/she can either came to know his/her area of interest or he/she can decrease the level of boredom related to studies and can do overall well.

As we all know now a days competition are increasing day by day. In this, it becomes essential to have little knowledge of all fields. For example, we all know technology is advancing day by day and much mechanical equipment are integrated with some type of software, so it becomes essential to know of how to use that software to some extent to operate the machine. It helps one in many ways like no one can easily fool you; one can give his/her response in discussion of any field. Directly or indirectly it helps not to fear doing off course things in life.

However, there is some disadvantage of doing this. Not all are good at everything. Sometimes it happens that some off course courses consume more energy of students and as a result of it they unable to do well in any of the courses, even they are capable of doing well in their regular courses.

After seeing all facts and consequences I believe that this practice should be followed by all universities. After all it’s in good will for students only and through this recommendation many students can get their right way to move forward in his/her career life.