Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues to end the student evaluation of professors to enable its omega university graduates secure better job is based on vague information provided by him. There are many loopholes in this argument. How termination of evaluation process directly affect the success ratio in jobs? It is not clearly stated.

First of all the author has assumed that by implementing a new procedure for evaluation of professors in Omega university has led the overall grade of student risen by 30 percent. It clearly shows no connection between this two, because by new procedure the students are evaluating the teaching effectiveness of professors. It doesn’t imply that if processors have started giving good marks the teaching effectiveness has improved. Such as it could happen that as soon as the professors have started giving good grades the students have wrongly evaluated the teaching effectiveness. So to get effective response to it the termination is not a good option rather make sure that the evaluation process goes flawlessly.

Secondly, this new procedure has been applied fifteen years ago, and as we know course content are updating very often now a days. It became mandatory to change teaching style by professors and similarly the evaluation procedure. We can’t rely on the evaluation method which is fifteen year old.

The author has suggested that professors have started giving good grades because the evaluation procedure has been implemented. Maybe it has been happened that students earned those good grades by their own efforts and hardworking but the course content was inadequate to the further job perspective. So the author should first make sure the feasibility of course to confirm his argument.

Such evidence tends to weaken the argument and it can’t be validated. To validate authors argument, he/she must see that that the evaluating procedure are up to date, check whether the evaluation occurs flawlessly, and the course content should be adequate so that studying it they can succeed in job.