The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Monarch Books should open a cafe in its store to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened a cafe. Monarch, which has been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer following because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Opening the cafe would clearly attract more customers. The cafe would require relatively little space. Space could be made for the cafe by discontinuing the children's book section, which will likely become less popular given that the last national census indicated a significant decline in the percent of the population who are under age ten."

The author recommend that, by opening café Monarch books will be able to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books. Stated in this way, the argument reveals several instances of poor reasoning and fails to measure some of the key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To support this argument author reasons that Monarch is well established on same place for more than twenty years and it has large customer base. However careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it offer little credible support to the author's recommendation. Hence the argument can be considered incomplete.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that by opening a café by Monarch Books in its store it will be able to attract more customers. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. As cafes are generally made for hangout and to have snacks, so how would it attract customer for Monarch Books? And if we consider that all people visit the café would be having reading a book as a primary purpose then also there would be much disturbance café premises. So eventually reader will be unable to concentrate on reading and they will obviously not prefer café for reading purpose. Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated that reader likes to read Monarch Books in a Cafe.

The author also point out that Monarch has a large customer base and it is at same place for more than twenty years. This is again a weak claim as it contradicts with author argument to open a café to compete with Regal Books, but this statement indicates that Monarch has already strong customer base to complete with Regal Books. It is not necessary to copy our opponent to defeat him. If this argument has provided evidence that Regal has even more strong base than Monarch and by opening café customer could be gained then it would have been a lot more convincing to reader.

Finally, the author tells that the space for café should be made by discontinuing the children's book section. Which is based on vague premise that the children books will become less popular as recent national census indicated a significant decline in population under age ten. First of all this premise is making assumption that "will probably become less popular", this itself is dubious; and the second point is that in whole argument it is not at all indicated that the reader for children books are under age ten only. Adult can't read children books? Without convincing answer to this question, the reader can't be convinced to discontinuing children's book section.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. Finally, to better check the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about, who are the readers of children books? ; Which environment is most liked by reader of Monarch Books? To bolster it further, the author must give better evidence.