"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The owner of Central Plaza argues in this letter, to prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza to return business to its previously high levels. The reasons which he provide fails to mention some key factors on the basis of which argument can evaluated. In support for his argument, he suggests that there has been increased amount of litter and vandalism; he states that there is decrease in number of shoppers as skateboarding has increased. Considering these points, provides no strong base to owner's argument. Hence the argument can be considered incomplete.

First of all, the owner assumes that due to increased popularity of skateboarding, the number of shoppers have been decreased over last two year. Here he fails show the relation between this two. How can increase in skateboarding directly affect the shoppers in Central Plaza? As both have motives for visiting Central Plaza. Also it is seen that, generally malls are very large in area and one can get tired of walking too much for shopping in this condition skateboard helps shoppers and due to which he/she can shop more and for more time.

Secondly the owner states that the amount of litter and vandalism also has increased in Central Plaza. But there is not stated who are the practicing these types of activity in Plaza. As it may be possible that shoppers are only practicing such type of activities or some other third party. If we talk about damaging properties of Plaza or other’s through skateboarders, then it is obvious that if one is not good at riding a skateboard he himself will not prefer it. So the owner should more information about who are performing this practice to convince the reader.

Lastly, the owner argues that skateboarding should be prohibited in whole city, which is not at all convincing. As due the decrease in number of shoppers in Central Plaza, whose reason is not evaluated completely. How can the skateboarding be prohibited in whole city.

The owner argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster his argument, he must provide more information. Like what is the relationship with shoppers and Skateboarder? Who the culprits for litter and vandalism in Central Plaza? And how prohibiting skateboarding in city will directly help the Plaza to regain his business.