"The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors:

"Techcorporation is our top pick for investment this term. We urge all of our clients to invest in this new company. For the first time in ten years, a company that has developed satellite technology has been approved by the FTA to compete with the current satellite provider. That company is Techcorporation. A consumer survey last year indicated that over 80 percent of respondents were dissatisfied with the current satellite provider & would want to switch to another provider if the industry were not a monopoly. Thus, the new venture of Techcorporation into satellite television will prove to be highly profitable for those who invest now."" -

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice & the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

Today, having a conversation with a person on the other side of the globe is simple to an extent where 200 years ago, it would have been difficult to even imagine; could you imagine video calls between people - continents apart, without digital computers and the Internet? Our world has become global village now, as i would like to call it.

The advent of communication technologies has made it possible to know what's happening around the entire world, in just few mouse clicks! Satellite communication is being used by television providers for better picture and sound quality for the new HDTV's. Also, the internet has allowed us to participate in the global share market, where we can invest into any company we would like to invest into, and track live stock market data at any time.

The author mentions that the company "Techcorporation" is urging its clients to invest in the company, by placing this ad-like statement. Any careful investor will think before investing in this firm given the validity of the claims. The firm claims that it has received the FTA approval for the first time in 10 years. It doesn't state why other companies may have failed to get an approval from the FTA. Could it be the case, where other companies don't stand a chance against the currently leading company in spite of its poor reception(pun intended) by the public?

Secondly, with such sparse information mentioned in the claim as this, people will definitely feel risked for investing in this company as there is no mention of the current CEO, turnover or any statistical data which can attract potential investors.

The author also states that 80% of the users of the currently leading satellite provider are unhappy with the service. Had they given a more descriptive survey, getting responses from a large number of people, spanning across various regions and provided their original opinion in the claim, their argument would have been stronger.

All in all, very less information was provided, as we saw in the author's writing, to make the investors feel confident enough to invest in Techcorporation.