"The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors: "Techcorporation is our top pick for investment this term. We urge all of our clients to invest in this new company. For the first time in ten years, a company that has developed satell

In the argument, the author states that Techcorporation is the best investment this term. He states that the companies satellite techonology is FTA approved and ready to enter the market. Based on a consumer survey he consequently states thatTelecoporation is going to have a very profitable term ahead when it enters the competitive market of satellite television. At first glance the authors argument seems cogent and plausible, but after thorough scrutiny we notice that, the author fails to proved any supporting evidence or an analogy to a similar successfull observation. The argument is rife with fallacies. There are several serious questions that need to be answered before accepting the author's recommendation.

Firstly, the author suggests that the companies satellite technology is approved by FTA to compete with the current satellite providers. But he fails to provide any facts or figures about the companies available capital to participate in the race among other satellite providers. Author also falls short of citing any historical success stories of the company that would strengthen his view that if the company were to step into the competitive market, it would definitely be a successful venture.

Secondly, the author solely places his faith in companies success based on a survey that was conducted an year ago. The market and other satellite vendor might have upped their game since and might have been providing better services now. Other comapnies have aligned more to their viewers choice in the manwhile. Entering the market at such a juncture based on old surveys might seriously hamper the companies chances of making it large in the market. Thus, a more recent survey needs to be taken into consideration before citing the companies success in the market.

Thirdly, the survey which author builds his argument on is not detailed. There are several questions that need answering before the authors argument becomes formidable, such as, what was the age group of the survey participatnts? What kind fo questions were asked? How many of the participants were regular satellite television viewers? What were the criterion for rating a particular satellite television provider? Without answering these question jumping into conclusions would only cause the strength of the argument to circumvent downwards.

To conclude, I suggest the authors answer the above stated questions in his analogy before concluding and suggesting that investing in Telecorporation will be a profitable venture. The authos needs to work on strengthening his argument.