People have been so encouraged by society to focus on apparent differences that they fail to see meaningful similarities among ideas, individuals and groups.

The author states that, people as individual encouraged to embrace uniqueness and consequently there is a decline in his/her social belonging, where he/she fails to see similarities between his peers. I strongly disagree with the authors claims and put forth the following point to bolster my view.

Firstly, with the advent of media and social networking an individual is a click away from connecting to his peers, even outside his circle of influence. He/She can view and provide insights on each others views. A person is drawn to point of view of another individual and sees similarities in his/her thought process. Consequently, this leads to him either accepting or discarding one another views on the subject. This encourages him/her to form bonds among individuals in the society.

Furthermore, global concerns like pollution, war and deforestation bring about a sense of togetherness, as these problems cannot be resolved as individuals, but can only be solved as a community working towards finding a solution. An apt example is Earth Hour participation around the world, where a major percentage of population around the world participates to bring down the consumption of electricity by switching off all electrical appliances for a stipulated duration. When we see a common cause we look beyond our individuality and participate to help in the greater cause.

Finally, humans celebrate international sporting events with great fervour and joy. These events bring all participating nations and citizens of the countries together on a platform where each participant is treated equally immaterial of which province they belong to. Even representatives of nations at war come together and embrace their similarity, that is the love for the sport. They compete to win and bring glory to the nation but also treat their counterparts from other nations with respect they deserve. These events mark the uniqueness of each athlete but also highlights that we are similar and an extended family.

To conclude, the society divides us based on various differences, but it is this amalgamation that burnishes and brings out the best in us. How we strive to see meaningful similarities, even among our differences is a strong quality only humans can embrace. Our strength lies in our core values as a society, the value of seeing similarities among our peers.