Issue: So long as they are aware of the dangers involved, Adults should not be legally bound to use seat belts.

The number of road accidents are increasing by the day, as the number of vehicles being added each day is increasing at an exponential rate. Road safety has become more important than ever before. The author states that adults should not be legally bound to wear seat belts if they know the dangers involved in not wearing them. I strongly disagree with the authors point of view, and present the following points to bolster my view. Knowing that a certain thing is dangerous to us doesn't make us invulnerable to it. We merely are more cautious towards the dangers. Large number of accident casualties can thank seat belts for saving their lives.

Firstly, if we are aware of a danger we merely are more cautious towards it. At times, we might extend this cautiousness and go ahead prepare ourselves to avoid these mishaps from happening. But all this doesn't make us invulnerable to the danger. We merely are just less prone to get affected by it. Similarly, knowing about the dangers involved in not wearing a seat belt, doesn't make us immune to road accident. Seat belts are an intrinsic part of the cars today. They are not provided as an add on feature to the car for a very specific reason. The reason being that safety is not a luxury that must be provided to only certain people. The seat belts are scientifically proven to absorb a large amount of momentum when a vehicle encounters an impact with some other object. The momentum is equally divided by the patented 3 point seat belt. Thus protecting the passengers against major concussions and bruises. The effect of the impact is also arrested as the passengers are not thrown off their seats.

Secondly, there are a lot of statistics that support wearing a seat belt, as it saves lives. If we look at the amount of fatalities involved in the accidents where the passengers weren't wearing seat belts to the casualties involved in the accidents where passengers were wearing seat belts, we see the amount of casualties in the latter were fewer. Even Formula 1 race car drivers who are at the pinnacle of high speed driving suggest wearing seat belts. There are many occasion where the car they drive are in tatters but the driver survived because of the seat belt.

Finally, the author suggests that knowing about the danger is enough, but he fails to realize that its just first step in the process of avoiding the whole mishap. To present an analogy, we all know fire is dangerous, but merely knowing about it, does not mean we are ready to experiment our pyrotechnics. We need to explore all possible scenarios before we get into the act. We must have protective eye gear, gloves and fire extinguisher in case the fire goes out of control. Similarly, we need to take precautions before driving a car too. We need to start with trivial checks such as checking if the tire air pressure is fine, check if air bags are present in the car. And when you start driving, even before you start the engine make sure you wear your seat belt, and make other passengers wear their seat belts.

To conclude, road safety is not one persons onus. It is a collective effort as a society. We as adults must encourage safe practices such as wearing seat belts. As the saying goes, better safe than sorry.