Teacher's salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students.

In this age, where education is reaching its peak, how we measure a teacher's performance has become a topic of interest. While many believe that the teachers must get salaries based on student's performance, many other advocate that the teacher's salaries and the performance of the students are two independent factors. I believe that the teacher's salaries should be based on their performance, and not on the student's performance.

There are many compelling reasons to support my cause. Perhaps, the most important of the lot is, how is the student's marks connected to teacher's performance. What if the student who couldn't clear the subject was eventually able to clear the subject due to the diligent efforts of the teachers, but could not score enough marks to bring up the class average. is it considered a bad result and hence the teacher is penalized? The teacher's play a very important role in a students life, they are the first role models for many students. If the teachers aren't suitably rewarded for their efforts then they also start to lose interest in their jobs, no matter how motivated they may be. To nurture a strong and healthy learning environment in schools teachers must encouraged to perform their best.

Secondly, teachers are like potters, they mold the student's brains to construct a strong mind. A teacher works had to motivate the students and teach the subjects. But this does not ensure that the students will achieve good marks in their examinations. Examinations are for students to express their learning and how well they have understood their course. The teachers can only point them in the right direction, but how information is interpreted and grasped depends from student to student. Thus, a measuring the students performance and deducing the teachers performance is completely unreasonable.

Today's children are tomorrows citizens. A teacher has the responsibility of not only teaching subjects to the children but also teach them life skills. Youngsters need to be guided on morals, social responsibility and communication skills. All of these skills are essential for a living. However, unfortunately these skills are not measured in any examinations. What use is an adult who knows to solve complicated math problems but does not do so help solve a greater cause. If performance of students were the measure of how much amount of salary a teacher gets then all teachers will ignore these essential teachings and make students learn only academics. This will conversely effect the nations growth and result in it's downfall. Therefore, a teachers salary must be unlinked with the student's performance.

To conclude, a teacher plays a very important role in student's life. If the teachers salaries were to be linked with the student's performance, then, it would cause a major catastrophe. Student would not learn all aspects of learning in schools and instead become androids who know to solve the problems but do not know when it is apt to do it. A teacher must be given creative freedom and allowed to teach in her own way. They should be encouraged and rewarded for the thankless job they do.