Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are

The author recommends that citizens of developed nations must reduce their consumption of energy and must encourge more frugal usage of energy sources before the global climate change becomes more profound. I completely agree with the authors point of view, and put forth the following points to bolster my view. The global warming has been increasing year on year. The damage to caused to flora and fauna is almost irrepairable, due to large scale deforestation to fulfill our growing needs for energy consumption. Increase in sea levels is already effecting coastal regions drastically. If no action is taken as a collective effort now, it may be too late to recuperate from the damage we have caused to the global climate.

First of all, global warming isn't a theory anymore, that doesn't have any statistical proof. As the consumption of fossil fuels(petrol, diesel etc) increases to sustain our ever increasing need for energy source. The outcome of burning fossil fuels causes emission of greehouse gases. These gases trap the incoming heat from the sun and other planetory sources and doesn't let it escape the earth atmosphere. Due to this, temperature of earth seems to increase by a fraction of a degree celcius every year. Though this might seem to be a minute change in the large scheme of things, the effects can be quite devastating. The change in temperature impacts directly the weather patterns on a global scale. That means, the summers are too humid, and the winters are too wet. This kind of erratic behaviour has a negative impact on the agriculture. The plants cannot adapt so quickly to the changing weather conditions and hence there are huge losses in the food industry. Change in weahter patterns also effect humans. Our immunity takes a direct hit as the weather change so erratically.

Secondly, large scale deforestation takes place to continue providing us infrastructure and building materials for our energy producing industry. The green belt in Tamilnadu, as state in India was cleared and reduced to 80% of its former region to provide resources and land area to the nuclear power supply plant. This effected the regions rainfall and caused mass flooding in the cities adjacent to the green belt. The loss was so humungous that the state government is still reeling from it. The loss in capital from the nuclear power plan clearly outweighed the gain from the new plant. The loss we cause to the flora, also effects the fauna of the region. Many exquisite birds and animals are the verge of extinction, due the large scale deforestation.

Finally, increasing sea levels are no myth as depicted in hollywood movie Waterworld, if we don't take preventive measures we might soon be facing a shortage of land mass. Year on year, the population is increasing. And so is our consumption of our energy. Most of the energy supplied around the world is from burning fossil fuels, and non-renewable resources. As stated earlier, the global warming and greenhouse gases are increasing the global temperature slowly but steadily. A direct impact of this is the increase in sea levels. Many small islands in Iceland are totally submerged under water now and hence not dwellable. This kind of migration of a whole society is a loss of a complete culture. The art forms and culture from the specific land region is lost forever. The monuments submerged in water.

To conclude, all the mentioned effects are a direct impact of increasing energy consumption and need of individuals in developed nations. So the onus is on them to work towards a general cause to save the planet earth before the effect becomes irrepairable.