One increasingly popular policy for promoting renewable energy is a feed-in tariff. Under such a policy, investors on any scale, from large corporations to individual homeowners, produce their own energy from solar panels installed on their property. Elec

In the argument given, the author states that feed-in tariff is a very popular policy to promote renewable energy. His concerns are about the reluctance of home owners and large corporations to invest in this popular policy. Consequently, he states that feed-in tariff is stable and exceptional effective and hence, ought to be pursued more. At first glance the argument seems cogent and comprehensive, but on a thorough scrutiny of the argument we notice that the authors fails to provide any fact to support his argument. Moreover, he fails to provide any kind of analogy to a similar proven observation. The argument is rife with fallacies. There are several important question that need to be answered before accepting the author's recommendation.

Firstly, the author assumes that solar energy can be utilized all around the world at all times. This assumption is baseless as we know because of earth's rotation only one hemisphere of earth is exposed to the sun. Moreover, only the regions along the equator enjoy maximum exposure and hence only they can effectively use the solar energy. Many other factors such as weather and topology of the province also account for how well we can exploit the suns energy. Without providing any sort of explanation the argument is presents to be half cooked.

Secondly, the installation of the solar panels given to be a costly affair. But the cost of certain commodity being costly is subjective in nature. What might be costly for an average home owner might be penny worth for a large scale corporation with huge capital backing. Author assumes that if it were not for the strenuous economic conditions both home owners are corporates will have enough capital to invest on solar panels. This assumption is not based on any kind of statistic and cannot be accepted in its current form. The author needs to explore more and conduct surveys or base his contention on a previously proven observation.

Moreover, availability of property is taken for granted by the author. The author comfortably assumes that all home owners and corporations have enough property to place enough solar panels. There are no numbers provide such as the minimum average amount of land per home owner in a particular region where the panels were installed successfully to provide stable profits over time. The author needs to be more thorough with his supporting evidence before making such tall claims.

To conclude, the authors argument cannot be accepted as it is. There are some very important questions that he needs to ask before making assumptions. He also needs to work on providing supporting evidence where it is apt.