A recent survey of 250 adults between the ages of 30 and 45 showed an association between the number of hours adults spend online each day and self-reporting of symptoms commonly associated with depression. The survey found that adults who spend 30 hours

The author tries to draw a correlation between the increase in number of hours spent online by an adult of a specific age group increases the chances of them reporting symptoms commonly associated with depression. He bases his conclusion on a survey. On the first glance, the author's argument seems cogent, but on thorough scrutiny we notice that the argument fails to provide any supporting statistics or a good analogy to a similar observation. The argument is rife with fallacies. There are some serious questions that need to be answered before the argument is accepted.

First of all, the author states a direct cause-effect relation between the number of hours spent by an adult online to the symptoms of depression. There might be numerous other causes that are not taken into account before coming to such a conclusion. The scope of such assumptions cannot be well defined. For example, most of the adults of age 30-45 are office goers. They might be facing stress at work or might be anxious because of the traffic they face while going to and fro from work. The participants on the survey must be kept unaffected from external factors that might cause the results of the survey to be skewed.

Secondly, the author fails to provide statistics about the actual number of adults who took the survey actually felt symptoms of depression. Without providing the numbers making such a claim is a debacle. The number of such adults might be only 2 among 250 or 240 among the 250, but we cannot link the effect of online usage to the be the only cause depression.

Thirdly, the author fails to support his claims with any medical opinion. The adults who reported the common symptoms of depression might actually be wrongly diagnosing their issues to be symptoms of depression. Being "sad, down or blue" is a very weakly constructed argument to being equal to a person who is depressed. Also, there is no historical data about the sample set of adults, as to if they were already under the influence of depression. What kind of medication they take? Do they cause symptoms of depression? Have the adults in the region recently witnessed a depressing event such as, nations football team losing in the world cup or a recent act of terrorism in the city center? Though trivial, these skew the results in a much convoluted way.

Moreover, the type of questions asked in the survey also has an impact on the conclusion of the survey. The author must furnish the support his argument with the list of questions asked in the survey which led to him making this conclusion.

The author needs to work on providing more formidable base to buttress his argument. He must look keenly into the details that might deviate his conclusion even by the slightest degree. Only after providing answers to the above questions will the argument be acceptable. Without such a cause, as the argument is presented, it is unacceptable.