"The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors: "Techcorporation is our top pick for investment this term. We urge all of our clients to invest in this new company. For the first time in ten years, a company that has developed satellite technology has been approved by the FTA to compete with the current satellite provider. That company is Techcorporation. A consumer survey last year indicated that over 80 percent of respondents were dissatisfied with the current satellite provider & would want to switch to another provider if the industry were not a monopoly. Thus, the new venture of Techcorporation into satellite television will prove to be highly profitable for those who invest now."" -

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice & the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The argument states that, investors should invest on Techcorporation, which is the new satellite provider approved by FTA. The claim is based on the premises that, a great percentage of the consumer survey respondents are dissatisfied with the current service provider and there is no other competitor in the market. However, in deeper analysis, it is apparent that, certain relevant aspects has not been taken into consideration, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

The first flaw of the argument is that, the newsletter cites from a survey, which was conducted to know the customer feedback about the present service provider, result shows that about 80% of the customers are dissatisfied. However, the survey does not reflect the actual scenario until it is specified, how much current customers were included in the survey. Unless a survey is fully reliable, it can not be used to back up the letter's claim that, people are actully dissatisfied with the present service. May there be situation like, only the people of the area, where the current service provider is having some techincal problems were surveyed and that is why most of the people express their dissatisfaction with the present provider. So, the author could benefit from providing more information regarding that concern.

Consequently, the survey just specified that, the people are dissatisfied with the present satellite provider, but did not specify the reason behind that dissatisfaction. If the new Techcorporation enters into the market with the same problem like the present provider, it will not bring any good to the customers and thus the customer will eventually will be fed up with the new provider too. So, the author of the letter should have provided more information regarding the reasons behind the dissatisfaction.

Lastly, the argument stats that, the new venture will be highly profitable as there are only competitor in the market and customers are not in good terms with them. However, the argument did not provide any information whether the present service provider is making profit as the sole distributor in the market. There is no indication of profitability in the argument from where we can assume that the satellite providing business will be profitable business in that reason. The author should clarify that issue too.

To conclude, the argument lacks information and seems to provide irrational assumptions and logical flaws. The conclusion by the newsletter seems tenuous due to lack of concrete information. The author of the argument should have provided more logical information and concrete evidence to substaintiate his viewpoints and make the argument more cogent.