Technology while apparently aimed to simplify our lives only makes our lives more complicated Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In dev

Technologies are developed to solve human's problems, and it has come a long way that technologies are so powerful and influential to our daily life. As the old saying goes, power can bring us goods and also evil, it all depends on how you utilize it. Technology perfectly fits the concept of the old saying, good or bad, it all depends on how you use it.

An example that technology changed our daily life is the GPS system. Originally developed for defense purpose, which aimed to precisely locate strategic targets and eliminate it, GPS is now available to every civilian in the world. A once weaponized technology used on war zone has now transformed to one of the most important society applications, GPS navigation. Before GPS is available to the public, travelers rely on physical map to figure out where their position is and how to get to the destination. With GPS and digital map, people now can easily locate themselves in a totally foreign environment, and also be provided with the shortest route to their destination instantly, which reduce the stress of the traveler by not having to stop once in a while to check if they are on their planned route. The same technology with two different application, creates totally different impact on the society.

Another example is the internet, a fast-growing new media, which utilize its instant nature and exposure to billions of users around the world, spread information so much faster and more personalized than traditional media like TVs or newspapers. With internet, people can access information instantly that would normally take hours to find in a library. People can even get education online, which reduce the cost and provide more opportunities for people who wouldn't afford to go to school physically. But internet is also a tool to manipulate the crowd. For example, during election, each candidate's campaign release negative information, sometimes untruthful, towards the opponents and try to impact voter’s decision.

Technologies are designed to solve problems, and people who use it define its nature of good or bad.