The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument is based on unwarranted assumptions, rendering its conclusion, building a subway system will relieve the traffic and improve the economy, invalid.

First, we are not provided sufficient information about the traffic congestion. To be more specific, we don't know where the congestion occur, how often does it occur, and the root causes of the congestion. It may be that the congestion only occurs in downtown areas, which the subway system running through downtown will be helpful to solve the local traffic issue. But if the congestion is due to sudden influx of traffic from suburb areas in rush hours, the subway will not help reduce the traffic flow toward downtown if not connecting to suburb areas. Without more detailed information, it is hard to be convinced that building a subway system is going to solve the traffic issue.

Second, the argument assumes that the subway system will solve the lack of public transportation in downtown area, and also solve the inconsistency and safety issues occurs on buses. The subway will definitely help providing additional public transportation choice. But if the subway system does not run per its timetable, like the subway system in New York city, trains are almost always late, the inconsistency issue is still not eliminated. As for the safety issue, we are not sure about what safety issue the argument refers to. But with the subway running 24 hours a day, if not watched attentively during night time when less people are on the train, criminal activities could still happen.

With unwarranted assumptions and lacking of specific evidences and analysis, it fails to make a convincing case that building a subway system will solve all the current issue.