The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones In order to relieve Briggsville s notorious traffic congestion Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi million dollar subway system The subway will run through the major

The argument is based on unwarranted assumptions, rendering its conclusion, building a subway system will relieve the traffic and improve the economy, invalid.

First, we are not provided sufficient information about the traffic congestion. To be more specific, we don't know where the congestion occur, how often does it occur, and the root causes of the congestion. It may be that the congestion only occurs in downtown areas, which the subway system running through downtown will be helpful to solve the local traffic issue. But if the congestion is due to sudden influx of traffic from suburb areas in rush hours, the subway will not help reduce the traffic flow toward downtown if not connecting to suburb areas. Without more detailed information, it is hard to be convinced that building a subway system is going to solve the traffic issue.

Second, the argument assumes that the subway system will solve the lack of public transportation in downtown area, and also solve the inconsistency and safety issues occurs on buses. The subway will definitely help providing additional public transportation choice. But if the subway system does not run per its timetable, like the subway system in New York city, trains are almost always late, the inconsistency issue is still not eliminated. As for the safety issue, we are not sure about what safety issue the argument refers to. But with the subway running 24 hours a day, if not watched attentively during night time when less people are on the train, criminal activities could still happen.

Finally, even if the traffic issue and the lack of public transportation is solved by building a subway system, the mayor’s expectation to see economy growth, induced by relieved traffic and increased worker productivity, is unwarranted. Reducing traffic time could be beneficial to the car drivers and thus increase their productivity, however, the whole workforce may not be made up solely by motorists. It could be that other commuters like bus riders and bikers are accounted for 60 percent of the workforce, which are not affected by the subway system, in Biggsville. Without a specific data on how big is the motorist group accounted for the whole workforce, the mayors assumption totally falls apart.

With unwarranted assumptions and lacking of specific evidences and analysis, The argument fails to make a convincing case that building a subway system will solve all the current issue.